The Curriculum

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)
The EYFS is the stage that your child is in when they attend Jigsaw and also the stage they are in until the end of their reception year at school.
The Early Years Foundation Stage Framework describes how our Pre-School staff should work with your children and their families to support their learning and development.
It describes how your child should be kept safe and cared for, and how to ensure that your child achieves their full potential.
There are four main overarching themes within the EYFS that the Pre-School puts into practice through its planning, assessment and support of the children:
P1000465Theme One: A Unique Child
Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.
Theme Two: Positive Relationships
Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and / or a key person.
Theme Three: Enabling Environments
The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning.
Theme Four: Learning And Development
Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of Learning and Development are equally important and interconnected.
The EYFS framework focusses on six areas of learning:
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication, Language and Literacy
  • Problem Solving, Reasoning and Numeracy
  • Knowledge and Understanding of the World
  • Physical Development
  • Creative Development 
None of these areas of learning can be developed in isolation from the others. They are equally important and depend on each other to support a rounded approach to learning. All the areas are encouraged through planned, purposeful play, with a balance of adult-led and child-initiated activities.